Festival of Quilts – NEC

In August I visited the Festival of Quilts at the NEC, Birmingham. I took lots of photos of the entries and decided to compile them in to a sketchbook, but make a few stitched samples from the ideas I had seen there.

With one thing and another these got put on the back burner, I dipped in to them every now and again but finally, this week, I have finished the samples.

I like to make samples from work that I have seen, it re-enforces that I have the same skills as the people whose work I admire, but it also keeps these skills at the forefront of my mind. Possibly making them easier to retrieve when making my own work.

Again there are quite a few samples where lines are the main feature, or they are blue. Good to be consistent I like to think.

Samples and sketchbook pages are here.

Leave a Reply

