Drawing Exercise

As one of my recent feedback comments highlighted that I tend to abstract a single detail of an item rather than drawing it whole I thought I might try to do just that.

I’d taken my drawing materials on holiday and on a particularly cold day spent my time drawing a cone from a spruce tree.

I have fallen down on the colour element and taken to using mostly black and white for these sketches but I have tried out some new materials, conte crayons and white line marker pen, so feel that this cancels that out. It’s my drawing after all. Practice, practice, practice.

Below are the drawings I made over that day. I enjoyed trying to come up with different ways of drawing the same thing and particularly like the drawings made with soluble media that have run and the final wax resist picture.

Click here to see them.

 

 

Leave a Reply

